An Influential Event

The most influential event for me so far was a military exercise I had in Brunei when I was a serviceman. That experience has taught me to appreciate the simplest of comforts that we tend to take for granted. The exercise lasted for 8 days in the dense rainforest that was very unforgiving at that time and during which it rained every day. The harsh conditions made me realised just how I really missed all the comforts that I usually enjoy. One example is food. Our food that we had were not favourable given the condition of the rainforest. The rain made it very hard to start a fire to cook any form of food. Having warm food, is a luxury in the field. Having that phase made me realised how lucky I am to have whatever that I enjoy at this period of time. It serves as a reminder to me to keep grounded and always appreciate whatever that i enjoy currently.

An Influential Event

2 thoughts on “An Influential Event

  1. Weiting says:

    Hi Asyraf!

    I believe it must have been really bad during the military exercise! From what I have read, it already sounded horrible! I am glad you survived it!

    I believe this post certainly has been written to describe the kind of ‘torture’ you have been put through during army. It shows the kind of experiences only army guys can understand.

    Like

Leave a comment